SHOULD I BUY THIS? - Student creating Digital Media, Macbook Pro 13" 2017, Casua...

Notifications
Clear all

SHOULD I BUY THIS? - Student creating Digital Media, Macbook Pro 13" 2017, Casual Gaming.  

RSS

yuuiko
(@yuuiko)

INTRO:

So I need some help and info about eGPUs. I'm not very versed in putting hardware together since I've basically been on a MacBook pro my whole life.

I'd love any tips, recommendations and information about my current situation and part selection below before I buy anything

MY SCENARIO:

I'm a student doing a digital media course, which the most demanding tasks involve Video Editing, 360 Video Editing (6K-8K turns out it wasn't 8K when i checked again), Game Design, VR and possibly Rendering Animations.

I have a MacBook Pro 2017 13" (4Tb3 ports) i5 Dual Core 3.5GHz, 16GB RAM, and only this.

This MacBook has been great and has produced a lot in return for me, but it's finally reached its limits with adding effects to 8K footage and possibly VR work soon, so I'm probably in need for an eGPU.

Aside from the graphically intensive work, I'd like to get into a little bit of gaming as well, though I'm not a big gamer so this isn't a top priority. 

As for what I'm looking for in the hardware, here's what I'm looking for in order of importance:

1. Seamless Compatibility with MacOS, 
  2. Enclosure: Compatibility with the internal display AND external (1080p HDMI) display simultaneously if possible,
  3. USB ports,
  4. Enclosure: Mid tier budget < $450 USD or in other words "As cheap as possible but great build quality and utility, slightly premium"
  5. Enclosure: Expandability, Future Proof (Full length double width probably). I want it to last.
  6. GPU: Mid range, 60fps on 1440p gaming (I use internal display as my main display) but I don't mind 1080p gaming too. Basic VR capability in case I need it.
  7. Support for using it in Bootcamp Windows 10
  8. Full Speed Charging (61W for my MacBook),
  9. Nice Looks.