Share:

RX 590 - Mac OS 10.14.2 Mojave  

RSS

Woodz
(@woodz)
December 15, 2018 11:23 pm  

Hello all!

First off I'd just like to say thanks for all the info that's been posted here - very useful someone like me who is new and a total noob when it comes to the world of eGPUs. Also I'm sorry if this is posted in the incorrect section.

I've just purchased a Razer Core X GPU enclosure which I plan to hook up to my MacBook Pro 15" 2017. (2.9 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM). However, I'm a bit lost when looking for card to actually put into the enclosure. I'm going to be using it for gaming, mostly World Of Warcraft. As I understand, World Of Warcraft supports Metal. I would much rather stay on Mac OS. I know Mac OS isn't great for gaming but I don't fancy partitioning my hard drive to install windows via bootcamp just to play a single game.

Now, I've been trying to decide which card is best for me. I know an AMD RX 580 will work no problem. The thing is the 580 is a bit old now and the newer 590s are readily available here in the UK. The price difference from an 580 isn't really that much. Right now Overclockers UK have a Sapphire Pulse RX 580 8GB for £209 while Amazon have Sapphire Nitro RX 590 8GB for £250 and I have a £30 amazon gift voucher I can use.

As far as I'm aware the RX 590 isn't 'officially' supported in 10.14.2. There is a thread in the Build Guide forum where someone uses this card with a 2018 Mac mini and they were not impressed with performance in Mac OS and put it down to a 'driver issue' ( https://egpu.io/forums/builds/2018-macmini-rx59032gbps-tb3-win10-mojave-10-14-2/).