Notifications
Clear all

Vega 64 model for 2017 iMac 5k (TB3)  

of  2
  RSS

Venkman
(@venkman)

Hi everyone - 

I'm just getting into the eGPU world and I looked around in the builds - it doesn't seem like there are too many users testing with a 2017 iMac 5k. I've got the top of the line 7700k model with 2xTB3 ports.

I'm looking at this Vega 64 for external GPU rendering in C4D ProRender, not gaming.   https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202326&cm_re=Vega_64-_-14-202-326-_-Product

The model number is "21275-03-20G"

I was looking at the Sonnet Breakaway 650, which doesn't list this model in the supported configs. It does, however list this one: "21275-02-20G"

Is it worth the risk of buying the Sonnet box and this card even though the specific model isn't listed?  Sonnet lists a few other Sapphire Radeon RX Vega 64 cards, but not this specific model.  Would most Vega 64 cards work and I shouldn't worry about it too much?  I only hesitate because the price is great, but the return policy isn't.

I was also considering the new Razer Core X since it also has a 650 watt power supply and seems nicely built for $100 less than sonnet, but it doesn't list specific models of cards that are supported on Mac OS.  It only lists things like "Vega 64" and "Vega 56." Do Mac users have to worry about that?

Thanks for any help!

2017 iMac 5k w/ Radeon Pro 580 and 48 GB ram, Razer Core X, SAPPHIRE Radeon RX Vega 64 21275-03-20G 8GB

ReplyQuote
idontbyte
(@idontbyte)

Posted by: Venkman

Hi everyone - 

I'm just getting into the eGPU world and I looked around in the builds - it doesn't seem like there are too many users testing with a 2017 iMac 5k. I've got the top of the line 7700k model with 2xTB3 ports.

I'm looking at this Vega 64 for external GPU rendering in C4D ProRender, not gaming.   https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202326&cm_re=Vega_64-_-14-202-326-_-Product

The model number is "21275-03-20G"