Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock Review – Dead on Arrival

eGPU Reviews 24 Comments

Introduction

Ever since Lenovo announced its Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock at CES 2018, I had hoped their participation in the external graphics market would propel this technology forward. The concept was a formidable one. Lenovo intended to build a highly portable, highly productive workstation for your ultrabook. The first catch is that, at least for the time being, you need a Lenovo laptop. The one and only approved model is the IdeaPad 720S 13-inch (Model: 720S-IKBR). Worse still, disassembling this Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock reveals it’s gimped on inception.

All other configurations, brands, and models are not supported

A damning statement: “Other configurations, models, and brands are not supported”

Specifications  compare 
Price US$
$399
PSU location-type
external-AC
PSU max power 170W
Included GPU
GTX 1050
Power delivery (PD)
65W
USB-C controller
TI83
TB3 USB-C ports 1
Ports max bandwidth 5Gbps
Size (in/mm, LxWxH)
9.76 x 0.89 x 5.12
248 x 23 x 130
Included GPU ports
2xDP,HDMI
Weight (kg/lb) 0.69 / 1.51
Updated firmware 26.1 ✔
TB3 cable length (cm) 50
Vendor page link
User builds
link

Hardware Specifics

Let’s start by checking out the teardown photo of the Lenovo TB3 eGFX Dock. It is the first and only external graphics solution with a GPU soldered onto the main board. This makes for a much slimmer and lighter enclosure, less than an inch thick and weighing roughly 1.5 pounds. It also means you can’t remove the graphics card, a GTX 1050 mobile. The problem is the GTX 1050 4GB is not that significant of an upgrade to be future-proof.

Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock Components

Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock Components

Taking this enclosure apart was a big challenge. The top cover is sheet aluminum and glued to the entire surface of the inner frame. It took me a while using a putty knife to cut through an abundance of adhesive. Once this top cover came off, the eight concealed Phillips screws were accessible. Removing these screws didn’t free the inner frame from the plastic bottom cover quite yet. There are 6 plastic tabs holding these two components in place still. With the same putty knife, I patiently freed the plastic tabs one at a time.

With the bottom cover out of the way, the inner frame’s underside showed a neat arrangement of the Thunderbolt 3 main board and its cooling assembly. This cooling fan, heatsink, copper pipes and fins make the board appear more like a laptop’s motherboard than one of an external GPU enclosure. Instead of a CPU soldered onboard, we have the GPU sitting in its place. The TB3 main board also contains all I/O ports. In the front of the enclosure, there are three USB-A ports. The audio jack is a headset and microphone combo connector. The rear has one Ethernet connector, one HDMI port, and two DisplayPorts. The power connector for the Lenovo proprietary AC adapter is in the rear as well. A single Thunderbolt 3 port is located on right side of the enclosure. Close by this port are the crucial chipsets: TI83 USB-C controller, JHL6540 Thunderbolt 3 controller, and Winbond EEPROM. The Nvidia GTX 1050 mobile chipset, N17P-G0-A1 sits right in the center.

Testings & Benchmarks

In order to verify Power Delivery from this enclosure, I connected it to the late 2016 15″ MacBook Pro because macOS shows this number under System Information » Power. I’m not aware of a utility software in Windows to find this information. There are some hardware options such as this Plugable USB-C Voltage and Amperage Meter. The Thunderbolt firmware version is also easily accessible in macOS. The Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock comes with version 26.1.

The three USB ports each serve different purposes. On the far left is a USB 2.0 port that Lenovo recommends for use with a wireless keyboard and mouse. Lenovo also indicates this port allows you to wake up a sleeping computer in clamshell mode. I had intermittent success with this using a Razer Blade Stealth. The middle port is a regular USB 3.0. The far right is a USB 3.0 port with constant charging suitable for connecting mobile phones (2.4AMP output).

Out of more than a dozen external GPU enclosures I’ve used in the past year, none was as challenging as this Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock to pair with a host computer. The prerequisite is a suite of drivers from Lenovo Support site. This link to the drivers was the first line of text on the Quick Start Guide prior to even Step 1. Definitely not plug and play. The circular status light in front of the enclosure has three states. It operates very similar to traffic lights: Red, Yellow, and Green. When it’s first powered on by plugging in the external 170W AC adapter, the status light turns red. The yellow light comes on when the eGFX Dock connects to a Thunderbolt computer. The all systems go green light is achieved when the unit can communicate with the Lenovo drivers and other mysterious requirements that I have yet to figure out.

I tried pairing this dock with three different Thunderbolt 3 laptops. My only successful attempt was with the early 2018 Razer Blade Stealth. The other two failed due to various reasons. On the Alienware 15 R3, the supplied Lenovo drivers would crash repeatedly when I connected this eGPU. Lenovo’s drivers are older (380.07), possibly patched Nvidia graphics drivers that clash with the drivers Windows 10 prefers for the discrete GTX 1070 in this Alienware. The other failed host was a late 2016 15″ MacBook Pro. This is my main testing system that has worked with every Thunderbolt 3 enclosure to date. Yet Lenovo managed to strike out spectacularly. There’s absolutely no eGPU detection in macOS High Sierra even after installing the Nvidia eGPU workaround from Yifanlu. In Bootcamp, the Lenovo drivers allowed detection of the eGPU. However, Windows 10 could not identify the external graphics card as GTX 1050, and no driver ever loaded. This dock appears to be a locked-in solution for Lenovo’s ecosystem.

Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock + Razer Blade Stealth

Due to the thin profile and laptop-like cooling system, the Lenovo TB3 eGFX Dock can get loud. As seen in the photo above, the sound meter registered 60 dB by the rear vents. The right half of the enclosure where the GPU chipset is located tended to get warm to the touch during operation. The good news is this Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock works great as an expansion TB3 dock in both macOS and Windows. The graphics part of this product depends on a lot of factors. Unless you plan on using this TB3 eGFX with a Lenovo ultrabook, there are better options currently available.

I had planned to run benchmarks with more than one Thunderbolt 3 host but due to pairing difficulties, I could only do internal display and external display comparison with the Razer Blade Stealth. Also shown are benchmarks done with the Intel UHD 620 integrated graphics card. Here are the numbers:

Razer Blade StealthUHD Graphics 620eGPU Internal DisplayeGPU External Display
Unigine Valley5.2 FPS30.0 FPS29.7 FPS
Unigine Heaven5.3 FPS25.4 FPS25.1 FPS
Unigine Superposition6.2 FPS28.7 FPS28.6 FPS
3DMark Time Spy2.4 FPS10.3 FPS10.0 FPS
3DMark Fire Strike5.2 FPS23.3 FPS25.5 FPS
Tomb Raider 201313.8 FPS68.8 FPS70.5 FPS
Shadow of Mordor9.2 FPS38.4 FPS46.5 FPS
Dirt Rally12.5 FPS37.5 FPS45.3 FPS
Hitman11.7 FPS48.9 FPS52.1 FPS

Conclusion

The main appeal of external graphics enclosures is upgradability and flexibility. Lenovo’s solution is one step forward and two steps backward. The concept of combining external graphics and expansion I/O in an ultraportable footprint is a good one. However, given the software and graphics card limitations imposed by the Lenovo TB3 eGFX Dock, you would be better served getting an ultrabook with a discrete GTX 1050.  The execution of this Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock makes it effectively dead on arrival for the majority of eGPU enthusiasts.

 

See also

 

Rate this Post

Share this Post

 

Related Articles
  • Best eGPU Enclosures Reviewed - External GPU Buyer's Guide...
    October 16, 2018
  • Akitio Node Duo Tested Pcie Expansion Cards
    AKiTiO Node Duo Review - Two Slots, Endless Possibilities
    October 15, 2018
    2
  • State of eGPU for Macs – Mojave 10.14 Update
    October 13, 2018
    62
  • Asus Xg Station Pro Strix Gtx 1080 Ti 2016 15 In Macbook Pro
    ASUS XG Station Pro Review - Cool, Calm and...
    August 16, 2018
    50
  • Blackmagic Egpu Radeon Pro 580 Alienware 15 R3
    Blackmagic eGPU Review - Apple's UltraFine Curse
    July 31, 2018
    39
  • Razer Core X Handle Opened
    Razer Core X Review - Thick and Juicy
    May 22, 2018
    32
  • Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming Box Review - Little in...
    May 7, 2018
    64
  • macOS External GPU Review - Out-of-Body Experiment
    May 3, 2018
    45
  • Mantiz Titan Thunderbolt 3 Dock
    Mantiz Titan Thunderbolt 3 Dock Review - #Donglelife Simplified
    April 23, 2018
    35
  • Zotac AMP BOX Mini Review - Budget Friendly, Promise...
    March 19, 2018
    16
  • AKiTiO Node Pro Review - Jack of All Trades
    February 12, 2018
    38
  • Hands-on with Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock
    January 11, 2018
    29
  • Hands-on with ASUS XG Station Pro Thunderbolt 3 Enclosure
    January 10, 2018
    17
  • Razer Core V2 Review - Think Inside the Box
    January 1, 2018
    10
  • ASUS ROG XG Station 2 Review - Irresponsible Power
    December 20, 2017
    11
  • Sonnet Breakaway Puck Review - Pint-sized Compromise
    November 16, 2017
    11
  • Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Gaming Box Review – Tiny...
    November 3, 2017
    69
  • OMEN Accelerator Review - HP's External GPU Voodoo Doll
    October 14, 2017
    33
  • Unboxing: Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Puck
    October 4, 2017
    31
  • Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1070 Gaming Box Review - Tiny...
    August 11, 2017
    237
  • Unboxing: Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1070 Gaming Box
    August 4, 2017
    5
  • Netstor Hercules HL23T Review - Speak Softly and Carry...
    July 31, 2017
    65
  • The Makings of a Good Thunderbolt 3 Host -...
    July 5, 2017
    6
  • Alienware Graphics Amplifier Review - Faster than Thunderbolt 3...
    June 16, 2017
    23
  • Razer Core Review - an eGPU Enclosure Built for...
    June 8, 2017
  • RX 580 External GPU Review - AMD XConnect and...
    May 27, 2017
    29
  • Sonnet Breakaway Box Review - It's cool to be...
    April 30, 2017
    43
  • Unboxing: Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Box
    April 26, 2017
    17
  • Mantiz Venus Review: All-in-one Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Docking Station
    March 26, 2017
    44
  • AKiTiO Node Review & The State of Thunderbolt 3...
    January 7, 2017
    28
  • Unboxing: AKiTiO Node Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Enclosure
    December 15, 2016
    9
  • Acer Graphics Dock Review
    December 6, 2016
    21

 

24
Leave a Reply

avatar
19 Comment threads
5 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
14 Comment authors
jimmyJasonT430upImDe Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Member

“you would be better served getting an ultrabook with a discrete GTX 1050. The execution of this Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock makes it effectively dead on arrival for the majority of eGPU enthusiasts.” — aye, well, it’s not meant for eGPU enthusiasts. People like me who work on their ThinkPad I think welcome this unquestionably flawed dock for a little after hours gaming. Oh how I wish it was a GTX 1050 Ti or a GTX 1060 MaxQ! Even if it meant the PD was only 45W vs 65W. It has a 170W brick so there’s surely a lot… Read more »

Member

Yes! I forgot to mention price: the retail price of the Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 dock is $279.99 while the graphics dock is $399.99 and so for $120 you are getting an 1050. That is a brutal offer, you can barely get a desktop card at this price. 
There’s another thing to consider price wise: already https://www.sonnetstore.com/collections/thunderbolt-expansion-systems/products/egfx-breakaway-puck-560 has dropped from $449 to $399. Competition, yay!

rodrisanz
Guest

Interesting…
If Auros/Gygabite follows suit with its Gaming Box pricing structure , might just return the Lenovo Graphics Dock.
Looked at the Puck.  Wrote it off after noting its lack of USB / Ethernet.  I would have to keep my Lenovo TB3 Dock at the office, negating one of the main value propositions of a full eGPU docking solution.

Member

I just dunno about the Auros, it’s so thick :`( and the 1070 only has a single DisplayPort, that’s very near useless to me. 

Guest

This is not intended for enthusiasts and it was not intended to be taken apart. The main point of this dock is to provide a minimalist professional setup, which it does fairly well at a very good price. Support for non-Lenovo laptops would be welcome though.

rodrisanz
Guest

Hi @itsage.  

Looks like the Graphics Dock can work wonderfully well for Lenovo laptop users that follow the installation instructions.

I kindly suggest that you modify the title of the review to reflect this.  For example: “Great for Lenovo Hosts – Dead on Arrival for Everyone Else”

generalheed
Guest

I just wanted to add that I was also able to get this Lenovo Graphic Dock to work perfectly with my Intel Skull Canyon NUC. I just had to install Intel’s TB3 manager software and that’s all it took, aside from the Lenovo drivers. So far I’ve been able to run games like Sea of Thieves at max settings with this dock. From what you’ve described, I think the trick to getting it to work is to only use it on systems that don’t already have a discrete NVidia GPU in it. Something, for example, that only has Intel HD graphics… Read more »

Member

That status indicator is , indeed the GPU half, I found USB working even when the GPU half didn’t wake… 

Member

Report: the last week or so it has been waking steadily every single time. It’s like the problem is gone. I haven’t changed a thing.

Also note the perk site mentioned above, look at https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/wiki/intro for USA/Canada discount shops. It makes this dock a killer deal, there are empty enclosures which cost as much.

spyder57
Member

Posted by: chx
Report: the last week or so it has been waking steadily every single time. It’s like the problem is gone. I haven’t changed a thing.
Also note the perk site mentioned above, look at https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/wiki/intro for USA/Canada discount shops. It makes this dock a killer deal, there are empty enclosures which cost as much.

Thanks for your comments, they are helpful in judging the viability of this dock.  However, I don’t see it listed currently on the Lenovo site so the discount is not available. Could you provide a link?

Member

I am still pissed at this title — but for those who still want better information, the dock now works with normal nVidia drivers. Two reports on the thinkpad subreddit and now I tested it too. It is reported to work under Linux too although reports say hotplug doesn’t work (not that’s special to this dock). I have carried the dock from Vancouver, BC to Hungary and — would you want to do that with the Razer Core X? See…

boilerkim
Member

Posted by: chx I am still pissed at this title — but for those who still want better information, the dock now works with normal nVidia drivers. Two reports on the thinkpad subreddit and now I tested it too. It is reported to work under Linux too although reports say hotplug doesn’t work (not that’s special to this dock). I have carried the dock from Vancouver, BC to Hungary and — would you want to do that with the Razer Core X? See… I really wish I could buy this right now on the Lenovo website with the $320 perks… Read more »

Member

As I reported on reddit, it seems the nVidia driver now works with it, no need for the specific Lenovo driver. Maybe a new test would be in order… Disclaimer: I just updated the nVidia driver and it stay working, that’s all I know.

Eightarmedpet
Member

I’d agree with that… if it works with non modded drivers its a very different proposition.

votehart407
Member

Thank you for all the insight on this EGPU. I am going to give it a try next week with a Blade Stealth and XPS 13 9370 to see how it fairs. Curious if you have tried to use MSI Afterburner to tweak the settings. Perhaps an undervolt to keep the temps and fans contained. Maybe even a slight overclock. 🙂

ImDe
Member

Lenovo answers the question about the support of this dock by other laptops: only 700s Series-Lenovo ideapad 720S Touch-13IKB and 700s Series-Lenovo ideapad 720S-13IKB. So do not buy this dock unless you have this laptops!

Q&A: https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/accessories-and-monitors/docking/universal-cable-docks-thunderbolt/Thunderbolt3-Graphics-DockUL/p/G0A10170UL
Official comptability: http://accsmartfind.lenovo.com/products/G0A10170UL

T430up
Member

Posted by: ImDe
Lenovo answers the question about the support of this dock by other laptops: only 700s Series-Lenovo ideapad 720S Touch-13IKB and 700s Series-Lenovo ideapad 720S-13IKB. So do not buy this dock unless you have this laptops!
Q&A: https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/accessories-and-monitors/docking/universal-cable-docks-thunderbolt/Thunderbolt3-Graphics-DockUL/p/G0A10170UL
Official comptability: http://accsmartfind.lenovo.com/products/G0A10170UL

Works perfectly fine with X1 Carbon 5th gen.

Jason
Guest
Jason

Hey there, I’m trying to set up one of these with my Razer Blade Stealth as well, but it keeps connecting/disconnecting every few seconds (no problems drawing power through the thunderbolt connection, though, even with all the disconnecting). You seemed to have no problems getting yours to talk. Lenovo tech support wouldn’t help since they don’t ‘support’ anything non-Lenovo. Got any advice for me?

I’ve already tried installing the graphics dock driver/firmware, updating BIOS, updating the integrated graphics card driver, and a windows update.

Guest

I’m not sure why this review says that the Lenovo driver suite is required, I never installed that. All I did was plug this dock into the laptops I have (Dell XPS 9560 and Dell Latitude 7390 2-in-1) and downloaded the latest driver from Nvidia.com and installed that. Everything worked afterwards.

jimmy
Guest
jimmy

Once I reset those BIOS settings to the factory the dock was instantly recognized, both my monitors started up, and the drivers went on in no time. I’ve played with simple home floorplan CAD drawings and play Fortnite on high (1080p) with 0 issues or lag. Great boost in performance and can’t wait to upgrade in a few years to a higher performance Lenovo Graphics Dock, in the meantime I love this thing and I have no need for more. lenovo support