Visiontek Mini Egfx Limited Edition Wooden Crate

VisionTek Mini eGFX Review – Mobility meets Utility

eGPU Reviews 107 Comments

Introduction

The demand for external graphics (eGFX) has increased over the past few years due to the popularity of versatile ultrabooks. For many, an ultrabook provides all-day battery life in a portable form factor. A major drawback is the less-than-desirable graphics performance. This need is met by pairing an eGPU. However many Thunderbolt 3 eGPU enclosures are bulky, only serving one function. Enter the VisionTek Mini eGFX, a PCIe eGPU enclosure that sports the smallest footprint to date and provides useful expansion ports most ultrabooks lack. The purpose of this enclosure is to further advance efficiency in the mobile workplace and portability in the student gamer lifestyle.

Hardware Specifics

Visiontek Mini Egfx Component Layout

Visiontek Mini eGFX Component Layout

Specifications  compare 
Price US$
$350
PSU location-type
AC-ext
PSU max power 240W
GPU max power
150W
Power delivery (PD)
45W
USB-C controller
TI83
TB3 USB-C ports 1
Size (liters)
2.30
Max GPU len (in/cm)
6.89/17.5
Weight (kg/lb) 0.85/1.90
Updated firmware 40.1 ✔
TB3 cable length (cm) 50
Vendor page link
Implementations
link

The VisionTek Mini eGFX‘s most appealing trait is its small size. Build quality is average with the front plastic fascia in matte black finish to match the thin sheet metal body. The appearance is controversial. Perforation is a little overboard and appears somewhat of an afterthought. Given there’s no wasted space in the Mini eGFX, ventilation needed to be as open as possible. The entire unit measures at 2.30 liters and weighs .85 kilograms. It’s a remarkable difference compared to the most popular eGFX currently, the Razer Core X that comes in at 14.45 liters and 6.48 kilograms.

An eGPU enclosure this compact must start with a mini-ITX graphics card as the foundation. The design approach was to utilize all possible interior gaps between the graphics card and the PCIe slot. For example the expansion Ethernet port neatly fills the GPU’s rectangular cutout in front of the PCIe slot. It results in an unusual placement of I/Os on all four sides. Opposite the Ethernet port is a 6-pin PCIe power port. One Thunderbolt 3 port and two expansion USB-A 3.1 Gen 1 ports reside at the front of the enclosure. Once you install the graphics card the rear becomes populated with even more ports for monitor outputs. I came to fully appreciate the design after seeing the components of this enclosure inside and out.

Visiontek Mini Egfx Ports Connected

Connected ports on all sides

Dual Thunderbolt 3 controllers are another highlight of the VisionTek Mini eGFX. It’s a premium feature that so far only exists in the Razer Core V2. In contrast to single TB3 controller eGPU enclosures with expansion I/O, the dual-TB3 controller setup doesn’t suffer lagging issues through attached peripherals during heavy eGPU use. The second TB3 controller is essentially an internally daisy-chained Thunderbolt 3 dock that provides stability to expansion ports.

The VisionTek Mini eGFX mainboard is the most compact one I’ve seen. The primary Thunderbolt 3 controller [JHL6540] attaches the eGPU to a 4-lane PCIe 3.0 connection. The secondary Thunderbolt 3 controller [JHL6240] attaches the USB controller and Ethernet controller to a 1-lane PCIe 3.0 connection each. Other components typically found on Thunderbolt 3 eGPU enclosures are Texas Instruments TPS65983 USB-C controller and Winbond EEPROM firmware chipset.

Visiontek Mini Egfx Mainboard Vs Screw Driver

Mini eGFX Mainboard Vs Screw Driver

Visiontek Mini Egfx Dual Thunderbolt 3 Alpine Ridge Controllers

Dual Thunderbolt 3 Alpine Ridge Controllers

Visiontek Mini Egfx Ti83 Usb C Controller Winbond Eeprom

TI83 USB-C Controller + Dual Winbond EEPROM

In order to build an enclosure barely larger than an ITX graphics card, an external power supply was necessary. The included AC power adapter is a 240W [12V ~ 20A] unit. It provides one 6-pin PCIe power connector. Once plugged into the VisionTek Mini eGFX, it powers the main board directly and the graphics card indirectly through a PCIe power extension cable. A male 6-pin plug connects to the mainboard and a male 6+2-pin plug connects to the GPU. We’ve seen external graphics enclosures such as the ASUS XG Station Pro and Sonnet Breakaway Puck use external power bricks to either manage heat and noise or make their footprint smaller. The VisionTek Mini eGFX uses the AC adapter for both purposes. 

One nice thing about the standard PCIe power plug is the ease of running the VisionTek Mini eGFX with a more powerful PSU. The prerequisite is a 12V single rail output. I’ve used an Enermax Revolution 650W SFX power supply to run a Radeon RX Vega Nano Edition. This graphics card has a 175W TDP which is higher than the 150W Max GPU output of this eGFX (through stock 240W PSU). Therefore it would crash my test hosting system during heavy usage. With the much beefier 650W power supply, the Vega Nano did not experience any hard crashes. Keep in mind this is a modification outside of manufacturer specifications.

Visiontek Mini Egfx Rx 580 Itx Power Adapter Plug

Power Brick Switch and 6-pin PCIe Plug

Visiontek Mini Egfx 240w Ac Power Adapter Label

FSP 240w AC Power Adapter Label

Visiontek Mini Egfx Sfx 650w Psu

SFX 650w PSU + 6-pin PCIe connector

In order to install or replace the graphics card, you need a Philips screw driver. There are three screws along the rear edge holding the side panel in place. Once the screws are out, the L-shaped side panel can slide towards the rear of the enclosure. Both the side panel and enclosure frame are made of thin sheet metal. Due to the perforated construction, they’re not very strong. Take caution not to bend them which may cause alignment issues during reassembly.

The next component to remove is the cooling fan and its bracket. With miniature enclosures come small and rather fragile components. The AKASA 80mm fan is suspended through two horizontally-placed metal brackets spanning the length of the mini eGFX. Before removing the four screws that mount the fan bracket to the frame, carefully dislodge the fan connector on the mainboard. If you pull on the slim black and red cables rather than the connector, the cream-colored socket may come off the board. This cooling fan’s sole purpose is to dissipate heat from the back of the eGPU directly outside. As we’ve experienced, eGPU enclosures with small fans emit a high-pitched noise. In idle state the noise is mostly from the enclosure fan (~40dB). Once under load, the graphics card cooling fan surpasses the noise of the enclosure fan.

Visiontek Mini Egfx Rx 580 Itx Side Cover Off

L-Shape Side Panel Off

Visiontek Mini Egfx Asaka 80mm Fan

Asaka 80mm Fan

Testing & Benchmarks

Thunderbolt firmware version can be found in macOS System Information <-> Thunderbolt tree. The VisionTek Mini eGFX comes with two individual firmware, one for the primary TB3 controller [40.1] and another for the secondary TB3 controller [17.1]. The primary Thunderbolt firmware sets Power Delivery at 45W. It’s sufficient for most ultrabooks. Thunderbolt 3 ultrabooks such as the 13-inch MacBook Pro require 61W, but the battery should charge albeit at a slower rate. Given the limited 240W PSU, this is a reasonable compromise between providing sufficient power to the eGPU and the host laptop.

The VisionTek Mini eGFX‘s two Alpine Ridge Thunderbolt 3 controller arrangement is rather sought after. When we first saw this feature on the Razer Core V2, we questioned how dedicated PCIe lanes for expansion ports were possible since one Thunderbolt connection from the host computer can carry at most 4 PCIe lanes. If the eGPU was to utilize all 4 PCIe lanes, how are there more lanes for expansion ports through a second Thunderbolt connection?

2018 15 In Macbook Pro Radeon Rx Vega Nano Egpu 2nd Tb3 Controller Hwinfo64

Secondary TB3 Controller JHL6240 Alpine Ridge Low Power Hwinfo64

What Intel did in this arrangement was to attach the expansion Ethernet and USB ports directly to the PCIe lanes exposed through the second Thunderbolt 3 controller [Alpine Ridge JHL6240]. This controller is then daisy-chained to the primary TB3 controller [Alpine Ridge JHL6540] that hosts the GPU. Low-latency devices such as the mouse and keyboard don’t use much bandwidth. While they technically have full access to x1 PCIe connection, they don’t impinge on the x4 PCIe connection of the eGPU. Storage devices such as USB solid state drives may use up to 5Gbps of the max 22Gbps Thunderbolt 3 bandwidth. The gained advantage is minimal latency due to higher priority of service. This configuration ultimately stabilizes the expansion ports during heavy eGPU load.

In single Thunderbolt 3 controller setups, the expansion I/Os go through a USB hub prior to getting PCIe access. This arrangement has lower priority of service. During high eGPU load, inputs through the expansion ports are delayed. Additional latency is amplified during gameplay when input is not reflected in real time. This USB expansion lag issue has plagued the majority of eGFXs with expansion ports. A firmware solution of halving the Host-to-Device bandwidth helps, but it robs the already limited Thunderbolt 3 speed.

Itx Cards Rx 570 Wx 4100 R9 Nano Vega Nano

Mini ITX Cards – RX 570 WX 4100 R9 Nano Vega Nano

One limitation of portable eGPU enclosures is the smaller selection of graphics cards. Not all graphics card series have a mini-ITX model, and the power restraints in this VisionTek Mini eGFX narrow the choices. Apple made this short list even shorter by only supporting AMD cards in macOS. For this review I sourced a few mini-ITX graphics cards. The first GPU is a Radeon Pro WX 4100, a good card to drive four external monitors. As of macOS 10.14.2 Mojave, there’s official external graphics support for the WX 4100. The second GPU I tested was an RX 570 8GB that came with the Limited Edition VisionTek Mini eGFX bundle. It’s a balanced approach in achieving graphics performance boost at a reasonable cost.

The other two AMD graphics cards are R9 Nano and Vega Nano. VisionTek does not officially support these GPUs due to their high TDP. In addition the R9 Fury Nano is part of the Fiji family of graphics cards that has poorly optimized drivers in both Windows and macOS. I like the R9 Fury lineup a lot, especially the Nano version because of its tiny footprint and full fat chip. To use it as an eGPU in macOS, I relied on Mac_editor‘s Purge-Wrangler script. The RX Vega 56 Nano Edition has native eGPU support in macOS but, similar to the R9 Nano, it requires more power than the 150W the external AC adapter can provide. Below is a table of ITX graphics cards that may work with the VisionTek Mini eGFX enclosure.

Nvidia GeForce ITX AMD Radeon ITX
RTX 2070 RX Vega 56 Nano
RTX 2060 Pro WX 5100

GTX 1660 Ti Pro WX 4100
GTX 1070 R9 Nano
GTX 1060 RX 570
GTX 1050 Ti RX 460/560

 

For professional visualization and rendering performance I ran SPECviewperf 13. SPECviewperf is a trusted suite to measure graphics performance based on professional applications. The host laptop was a 2018 13″ MacBook Pro running Windows 10 1809 [i5-8260U, Intel Iris Plus 655 iGPU, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD]. The Radeon drivers were the modified Adrenalin 2019 19.3.1 from BootCampDrivers.com. Below are the results of the RX 570 8GB, R9 Nano, and Vega Nano through the VisionTek Mini eGFX as well as the Intel iGPU.

2018 13" MacBook ProIris Plus 655 iGPURX 570 8GB eGPUR9 Nano 4GB eGPUVega Nano 8GB eGPU
3dsmax-0617.9331.8634.4647.82
catia-0526.86139.24102.85206.31
creo-0220.4468.2353.4384.72
energy-022.927.197.9621.78
maya-0519.7129.31118.83177.85
medical-023.6234.0441.963.95
showcase-0211.1142.7252.1971.96
snx-035.1820.0414.1814.57
sw-0438.4979.268.3596.14

Conclusion

At $350 MSRP the VisionTek Mini eGFX is a good value for enthusiasts who have been looking for a small eGPU enclosure. It truly offers a one Thunderbolt 3 cable solution. Dual Thunderbolt controllers sweeten the deal as the only alternative to the Razer Core V2 that retails at $500. While the looks are nothing to write home about, its design function is to do the hard work behind the scenes rather than be the center of attention. In a small market and with even smaller dimensions, the VisionTek Mini eGFX excels by combining mobility and utility.

Giveaway

VisionTek built a Limited Edition Mini eGFX bundle that retails for $500 and includes a Radeon RX 570 8GB graphics card. It also includes a swivel HDMI cable and other promotional goodies. This package is available in very limited quantities during initial launch. As a welcoming gift to eGPU.io community, VisionTek has reserved one Limited Edition unit for a giveaway. To enter please leave a comment below with your host computer and your intended use. We will pick a winner on April 15th, 2019.

Visiontek Mini Egfx Limited Edition Wooden Crate

Visiontek Mini eGFX Limited Edition Wooden Crate

Update: Thank you all for the giveaway entries. @Mat_hd is the winner. We hope the VisionTek Mini eGFX RX 570 can further help him with modifying Radeon drivers for Boot Camp support.

 

 

Rate this Post

4.6/547 ratings

Share this Post

Related Articles
  • best egpu enclosures reviewed
    Best eGPU Enclosures Reviewed, Compared & Ranked - Buyer's...
    July 11, 2019
  • 2018 Mac Mini Egpu Usb C Ssd Gc Alpine Ridge Aic Thunderbolt 3 Dock
    2018 Mac mini Review - Heedlessly Renovated
    February 11, 2019
    13
  • 2018 Qc 13 In Macbook Pro Sapphire Gearbox Rx Vega 56 Egpu Monitors
    Sapphire GearBox Review - Loud and Clunky
    January 1, 2019
    6
  • Akitio Node Duo Tested Pcie Expansion Cards
    AKiTiO Node Duo Review - Two Slots, Endless Possibilities
    October 15, 2018
    17
  • State of eGPU for Macs – Mojave 10.14 Update
    September 24, 2018
    124
  • Asus Xg Station Pro Strix Gtx 1080 Ti 2016 15 In Macbook Pro
    ASUS XG Station Pro Review - Cool, Calm and...
    June 25, 2018
    76
  • Blackmagic Egpu Radeon Pro 580 Alienware 15 R3
    Blackmagic eGPU Review - Apple's UltraFine Curse
    July 22, 2018
    60
  • Razer Core X Handle Opened
    Razer Core X Review - Thick and Juicy
    May 22, 2018
    37
  • Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming Box Review - Little in...
    May 7, 2018
    168
  • macOS External GPU Review - Out-of-Body Experiment
    March 29, 2018
    45
  • Mantiz Titan Thunderbolt 3 Dock
    Mantiz Titan Thunderbolt 3 Dock Review - #Donglelife Simplified
    April 23, 2018
    35
  • Zotac AMP BOX Mini Review - Budget Friendly, Promise...
    March 19, 2018
    30
  • Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock Review - Dead on...
    March 12, 2018
    28
  • AKiTiO Node Pro Review - Jack of All Trades
    February 12, 2018
    42
  • Hands-on with Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock
    January 11, 2018
    29
  • Hands-on with ASUS XG Station Pro Thunderbolt 3 Enclosure
    January 10, 2018
    17
  • Razer Core V2 Review - Think Inside the Box
    January 1, 2018
    17
  • ASUS ROG XG Station 2 Review - Irresponsible Power
    December 20, 2017
    11
  • Sonnet Breakaway Puck Review - Pint-sized Compromise
    November 16, 2017
    24
  • Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Gaming Box Review – Tiny...
    November 3, 2017
    69
  • OMEN Accelerator Review - HP's External GPU Voodoo Doll
    October 14, 2017
    38
  • Unboxing: Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Puck
    October 4, 2017
    34
  • Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1070 Gaming Box Review - Tiny...
    August 11, 2017
    240
  • Unboxing: Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1070 Gaming Box
    August 4, 2017
    5
  • Netstor Hercules HL23T Review - Speak Softly and Carry...
    July 31, 2017
    65
  • The Makings of a Good Thunderbolt 3 Host -...
    July 5, 2017
    6
  • Alienware Graphics Amplifier Review - Faster than Thunderbolt 3...
    June 16, 2017
    30
  • Razer Core Review - an eGPU Enclosure Built for...
    June 8, 2017
  • RX 580 External GPU Review - AMD XConnect and...
    May 27, 2017
    29
  • Sonnet Breakaway Box Review - It's cool to be...
    April 30, 2017
    47
  • Unboxing: Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Box
    April 26, 2017
    17
  • Mantiz Venus Review: All-in-one Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Docking Station
    March 26, 2017
    48
  • AKiTiO Node Review & The State of Thunderbolt 3...
    January 7, 2017
    28
  • Unboxing: AKiTiO Node Thunderbolt 3 eGPU Enclosure
    December 15, 2016
    9
  • Acer Graphics Dock Review
    December 6, 2016
    21

 

107
Leave a Reply

avatar
92 Comment threads
15 Thread replies
1 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
88 Comment authors
itsageemmgeetheitsageKarlile Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Matthew Cameron
Guest
Matthew Cameron

I use a new Mac Mini 2018 6-core with 64 gigs of ram. Mainly hoping to use a compact eGPU for rendering videos and driving external monitors since I am a film sound mixer and audio editor by trade. This looks very promising especially due to the additional i/o for peripherals.
Please allow me to enter for the giveaway and thanks for the informative review.

DrEGPU
Member

Nice product. I like these tiny eGPU’s (got a Aorus gaming box 1080) for their portability. I use it for light gaming and testing deep learning code, before sending it to our DGX1. Cool write-up. Thanks!

I wonder if the mini cards from the Aorus gaming boxes would work. I assume the gigantic fans would have to be cut down or replaced…

nu_ninja
Member

I like how they used an 80mm fan to cool the back of the GPU instead of the 40mm fans other mini-enclosures have had. Hopefully you could just replace that fan with a quieter slim 80mm fan and make it quieter?

Guest
Alexander

I have a Matebook X Pro which I use to game from a reclined position in my bedroom due to a medical issue. On a related note, while using the computer for gaming and non-gaming in the bedroom I find that the wifi signal doesn’t connect reliably. I have a powerline system but since gettin the Matebook I’ve been waiting to get an ethernet->thunderbolt adapter in the hopes of getting an egpu that provides a one cable solution to the network issue and also will help with more graphics intensive games such as Elite Dangerous and Everspace. I’ve also been… Read more »

Jacket
Member

I have a 2018 Macbook Pro 13″ with Core i7 8559U. It’s a beast of a CPU and I would love to pair it with this little gem. Please count me in for the giveaway.

Guest

Hi there! Nice review! I’m with Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 5th gen, Core i7-7600U and 16GB of RAM

Eightarmedpet
Member

Great give away! Thats a super nice small foot print set up for someone… not for me though as the odd port layout would drive me crackers.

nando4
Admin

@itsage, can you take a photo of the unit with the rear as the front? That way the USB ports & TB3 cable are at the rear.

@eightarmedpet, there are 90 degree CAT6 LAN cables available so it would run alongside the system rather than jut out:

https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters-Combo-Pack-Degree-Ethernet/dp/B01N1EO495/

comment image

Maybe flipping the unit around and using such a LAN cable would neaten up the I/O port connectivity?

@itsage also used a 90 degree USB-C adapter in a  previous build without losing 40Gbps connectivity or bandwidth. That gives the supplied 50cm TB3 cable a little more reach and may also tidy up the TB3 cabling.

https://www.amazon.com/Poyiccot-2-Pack-Degree-Adapter-Extension/dp/B071XHQJG8/

comment image

C4PPY
Guest
C4PPY

As always really gook write-up!
I’m rocking a HP Studio G5 and this would fit perfect with my EDC for work!

Turbo
Guest

Awesome stuff!
I am an egpu virgin, just started to dive into this topic, and already learned a lot here. I want to use this enclosure with a Dell 7490, for work and for VJing, using my badass project 🙂
Choose meee! 😛

esatamacmodular
Member

I’m using a MBP 2016 and would use this visiontek to experiment with on-the-go desktop graphics.

omardesu
Member

Nice write up as usual @itsage!  Looks like a pretty versatile eGPU in terms of power supply but not sure if it’s entirely needed because of the limited GPU’s that can actually fit?  How were you able to fit the WX 4100 which is 8″ long (203mm)?  Caseless? As for the giveaway, count me in.  With this small form factor eGPU, I would probably take it on the road with me and use it for gaming on my 2016 MBP 15″ in Bootcamp (also would like to see if there are any extra challenges of getting the 2016 MBP working… Read more »

thorne402
Member

Does anyone know if this device is available anywhere in Europe? I’d also be interested in sellers outside Europe who will ship it abroad.

It’s a interesting implementation of a eGPU since it’s quite small but you can also choose which GPU to put inside.

omardesu
Member

@itsage Ah!  I passed by the picture that had all the GPU’s you tested.  When looking at the individual pictures that followed, I thought the 4100 was just not to scale as the other mini-ITX cards.  And when I actually clicked the link that redirects to Amazon, there were only the full size and low profile WX 4100’s which were saying the card is 8″ in length, so I assumed that was the card you tested.  But the last picture you posted definitely made it much easier to distinguish that it’s a eety beety card.

Kenton Wu
Guest
Kenton Wu

I have a Dell XPS 9370, which I picked specifically for its 4-Lane PCIE capabilities. I’ve been shopping around for a eGPU that’s small, cheap and offers a one-cable solution. However, I have not been successful, until I read this article!
Having this eGPU would be amazing because I am studying to be a Computational Engineer, which means I do a lot of research into massively parallel programming in order to solve physics/engineering problems. As such, I would take advantage of every thread that this eGPU can provide!

Guest

My current system is an Intel NUC 7th gen. Would love to upgrade to an 8th gen eventually, but with this egpu I could have a crazy high performance per liter in terms of desktop machines. Would love to have one of these to throw in my backpack along with my NUC for a very slick portable gaming PC. Thanks VisionTek for the give away!

theapplemaniac
Member

I currently have a MacBook Pro for student work and I was hoping that I can do some gaming overseas, since I study abroad. Would be great to have something to plug in to for gaming yet having a light laptop for work. Thanks for the giveaway! 😀

xikteny
Member

As a welcoming gift to eGPU.io community, VisionTek has reserved one Limited Edition unit for a giveaway. To enter please leave a comment below with your host computer and your intended use. We will pick a winner on April 15th, 2019. Due to my job I spend the majority of my time away from home, often moving between hotels every day or two. I used to carry a straight-up desktop gaming computer with me, but it just became too much of a pain to transport/hook up all the time, so I stopped bringing it, using only my phone for all… Read more »

ScreamingPict
Member

I use a 2018 15″ Core i9 MBP for work and games. Gaming on this hot mess is somewhat painful on the legs- I rather think this might be a good solution to keep the i9 away from too much thermal throttling and stop me burning my legs. Nice giveaway.

Wynand
Guest
Wynand

Looks like a great product, love the dual TB3 controllers.

My current setup is a X1 Carbon, i7-8650, 16gb ram and 1TB SSD. Great machine. Really needs a TB3 EGPU to make video rendering work and mixed reality experimentation sing along. This looks like the ideal product. Was close on pulling the trigger on the Lenovo dock but the limited GPU has held me back. Its OK for today, but we need some future proofing, this dock gives us that.

mojitoz
Member

Finally, a true portable eGPU. I have experience using another bulkier one, use it for work as a data scientist and occasionally carried the box between home and work place, so I know how troublesome it is. I’m using Macbook Air (2015 generation), with goalque’s patch and Thunderbolt2 converter to run eGPU. Thanks VisionTek for the giveaway chance.

OliverB
Member

Posted by: mojitoz
Finally, a true portable eGPU. I have experience using another bulkier one, use it for work as a data scientist and occasionally carried the box between home and work place, so I know how troublesome it is. I’m using Macbook Air (2015 generation), with goalque’s patch and Thunderbolt2 converter to run eGPU. Thanks VisionTek for the giveaway chance.

Finally?! What about the Sonnet Breakaway Puck?

Natali
Guest
Natali

Awesome review! I use Macbook Pro 15″, 512 GB SSD, and would love to have this eGPU. Playing Counter Strike Source, Serious Sam, BioShock.

blerghcity
Member

Dang this is a nice little package here. The internal daisy chained TB3 is a big sell.
I’d like to be in the giveaway too! If I got the device I’d actually test the realtime performance advantage of that internally daisy-chained 2nd TB3 against my Aorus Gaming Box which only has a USB hub, on both firmware versions. It would be nice to see if the latency advantage for low-input devices like keyboards and mice would be observably worth it.

Guest
Zakky

Oh… that’s why this TB3 enclosure is more expensive than another small enclosure like Akitio or Zotac because it has dual TB3 controllers.
I’m using Dell Latitude 7490. I hope I can use it for gaming on Linux. I’m intended to buy an eGPU enclosure for a few next months and because I’m not interested to build a dedicated gaming desktop PC.

Member

I just got a 2018 MacBook Pro 13″ with a 8259U quad core, and I’m very excited to ditch my PC and go down to a one computer, one-cable solution! I was planning on getting a competing product, but this with dual thunderbolt controllers looks like the absolute best way to have peripherals connected to my laptop. My intended use case is both Final Cut acceleration and some light gaming, which this enclosure paired with a 570 will be perfect for. Having just one computer instead of dealing with the hassle of syncing files and settings will be a massive… Read more »

Daniel
Guest
Daniel

Can we fit a SSD or 2.5 inch HDD in the case? Didnt see a SATA III Port in the pictures but the VisionTek official website mentions “Additional High-Speed USB 3.0, Ethernet Connection, and SATA III Port”.

precision01
Member

In my opinion VisionTek mini eGFX is a good choice for VR eGPU implementation, due to its dual TB3 ports. It’s a good alternative to the bulkier and more expensive option from Razer

VC
Guest
VC

This looks like a fantastically compact and full-featured eGPU! I use a Dell XPS 13 9370 and had been waiting for a small single-cable eGPU set-up for a while. Have almost pulled the trigger on the Lenovo Thunderbolt 3 Graphics Dock multiple times. I love the form factor and cohesiveness of that unit but feel like the GTX 1050 in that device is too limiting and not future proof enough. This is almost as small and is fully upgradable which is fantastic! Should be a perfect companion for me when I want to game at home.

SoyuzBottleRocket
Guest

Very cool to see the smaller form factor eGPU market expanding. I’m on a quest to create an awesome ultraportable setup for development, creative work, and gaming on the go and the Mini eGFX is definitely a tempting addition. I currently run with a Touch Bar model of the 2018 13″ MacBook Pro. My vision is to be able to setup shop in the place I happen to be staying with “the works” (eGPU, monitors, etc.) while also maintaining the grab-and-go flexibility of the MacBook. With the trend of modern laptops to be ever more slim, power sipping, and unupgradeable,… Read more »

switch
Member

Sweet eGPU! I’d love one for my mac setup. It’s a PAIN to hotwire the geforece in there. Sign me up 🙂

Astfgl_
Guest

I use a Zenbook 3 UX490 on the run and work at different offices. This would feel like a good alternative to make my Zenbook a full workstation without the need to get to a desktop to export projects.

Tone_Katsu_YT
Guest

I currently use a nuc8i5beh to make YouTube videos and do graphic design with. I travel a lot but haven’t found a laptop that I have found worth it within my price range for gaming and productivity. I’ve been looking into a lot of these eGPU solutions but many of them are very large and some seem quite unreliable. This seems like the perfect size for what i’m looking to accomplish!

Thank you for an excellent write up and comparison. Very helpful and just what I was looking for.

Denys
Guest
Denys

Finally, an eGPU that addresses the flaky expansion ports issues that plague most other models! Have you done any testing by stressing the USB controller while the GPU is busy, and while it’s idle? Are there noticeable performance drops? What suffers, the GPU performance, or the USB controller?

Owner of a Dell XPS 9570, I relocate often (once a month), and am looking at eGPUs for my machine learning workflows. The built-in 1050ti Max-Q is not cutting it, and the extra USB ports provided by this enclosure would be a salvation from my current #donglelife.

ian tacasan
Guest
ian tacasan

Been searching for reviews of egpu for weeks, found it here at last
everything is here, what a good find!,I’m on a hunt for an egpu to boost some power on an iMac for video editing,
with a lot of choices, reviews out there, the the decision on what to buy is hard, thankfully I found this site!

Troy
Guest
Troy

Host Computer:. Intel Hades Canyon NUC
Intended use: A super small 3.6L total volume gaming PC.

Guest

I’d love a small, portable eGPU to pair with my midrange 2016 15” MacBook Pro. I game wherever I find myself with downtime, and it would be awesome to have some more graphics oomph in a small, light package. I am also a photographer so the extra power would come in handy when editing.

Peter Dijkstra
Guest

Sign me up for the giveaway! I’m a game/augmented reality developer with a 2018 15″ MacBook Pro 2,9 GHz Intel Core i9 with 32GB of ram and a Radeon Pro 560X. I have a laptop because I have to go work at clients fairly often. This eGPU would definitely speed up my work when I’m at my studio and would allow me to dive deeper into machine learning – currently working on a video game in my free time and would love to leverage the power of machine learning in Unity to speed up testing :-).

Kar Rui Lau
Guest

Entering for the giveaway! Host computer will be a 2018 13″ MacBook Pro, intended use will be for gaming (and maybe a little bit of machine learning)!

Slavo
Guest
Slavo

Mac mini 2011 🙂 still in use. I’m playing Borderlands and other games and eGPU will make a huuuge speedbump. Cheeeerss anyway.

Guest

Hello I’m Mat from http://www.bootcampdrivers.com. I modify, build and test AMD graphics drivers suitable for Macs running BootCamp (Windows 10), ensuring they are kept up-to-date alongside PC versions of the driver. I also make it easier for eGPU users to get their eGPUs up and running alongside their internal GPUs by baking support for both in one driver package. I currently only have the ability to test the drivers on my m295X inside my iMac 5k from 2014. With the VisionTek RX570 I would be able to test the eGPU with the drivers which will help to further improve stability… Read more »

Richard Martinez
Guest

I’ve been wanting to get a nice eGPU to enhance my Unreal/Unity Game Dev workflow. This looks like a nice piece of kit! I find my progress grinding to a halt with larger scenes. This would help a ton!

Guest

I use a 2016 13″ MacBook Pro, dual-core with 8GBs of ram. I’ve been looking into eGPUs ever since I got my computer, but now I realize I could really benefit from having one, since my Final Cut video edits for university classes are taking hours to completely render in the editor. …I tend to go a bit overboard with color grading and effects. XD It would be nice to have this eGPU, so I can spend less time waiting for my timeline to render, and more time filming and editing. Thanks for the review, and please enter me in… Read more »

SymeonArgyrus
Member

Thanks for the awesome review – this one and all the rest. I’m just biding my time until my budget (or a free one! 😉 ) allows for me to add an eGPU to my 13″ 2016 NTB MacBookPro.

Robert
Guest
Robert

Hmm so this or the Aorus Gaming Box?

PurpleCrumpets
Member

Currently rocking a second-hand Dell Latitude 7390 2-in-1 for uni. I’m a huge fan of the one device does everything for computing rather than having two separate computers or a chunky gaming laptop. Receiving a VisionTek Mini eGFX would turn my decidedly utilitarian laptop into a sleeper gaming rig, turning CIV V from a slideshow to a masterpiece!

Jan Koppe
Guest

I’m finally getting a laptop with TB3 – my new work laptop, a T480. Also, I have to stay in another city for this new job, and will be away from my gaming computer for 3 months – getting such an enclosure would allow me to still play games after work. And even after that it will be very helpful for professional audio stuff – we need to use PCIe interfaces to get the low latency and high bandwidth required for studio work, and so far I’ve always had to carry a huge desktop PC for bigger concert recordings. with… Read more »

yokonav
Member

Thanks for the nice review! It looks a great product. I have a MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2016) at work and an Intel Nuc 8 at home. I am a bioinformatician at a medical science laboratory mostly working with huge amounts of sequencing data. I am planning to use the “Limited Edition Mini eGFX bundle” for deep learning using Keras with PlaidML on the AMD GPU and 3D visualization with multiple displays. Also, I would like to play high-end games at home. The light weight and small size makes it very portable so that we can carry it with us (even… Read more »

Guest

Great product and review! I just realized that I could improve my graphic experience to my 2018 13” macbook pro. I’m glad that I make this investment and tb3 ports are obviously open up a new world to me. Because I’m a researcher, I need to use GPU for rendering some 3D models I’ve built for publication, or just for visual presentation. Will love to try this tiny powerful fortune.

Guest

Excellent review, and this looks like a really compelling eGPU enclosure. Sign me up for that giveaway.. please and thank you!  I’m a creative professional, and depending on projects I switch between a late-2016 Macbook Pro 13″ and a fairly new HP Elitebook 1030 G3 – both i7 variants. I’m a minimalist in terms of things I want to worry about on  my desk.  I appreciate the expandability, the small size, all together with the “docking station” nature of this unit, seems unique on the market right now.  45W PD and available USB ports for my wireless KB\mouse, webcam and… Read more »

Guest
Jan-Pieter Van Parys

I have a Acer Aspsire VN7 592G with an older 960m. I’m a geomatics student in the final year of my master program and we use a lot of Agisoft Metashape, ERDAS Imagine, Cloudcompare and Autocad for 3D modelling, creating DEMs, photo modelling and point cloud processing. My current 960m is lacking behind but at the moment it’s not possible to upgrade so attaching this box for an additional performance boost would be great. The main reason I like this small formfactor egpu over others is that it enables me to take it with me while travelling back and forth… Read more »

Philipp Doe
Guest
Philipp Doe

I’d love to connect this bad boi to my T480s Thinkpad and get busy gaming!